Top 10 books in 2023

Top 10 books in 2023

Based on their impact on me

1) The Cost of Discipleship (Bonhoeffer)

Dietrich Bonhoeffer found his way into my life through Eric Metaxas' biography early in the year. The biography left me needing to know more about what he said, so I bought several books. This one was just the right book at the right time for me. It brought clarity to my mind regarding the relationship between faith and obedience and helped me understand what discipleship really entails. I wrote this after reading it this summer: "The feeling I had after putting this book down was that this must be my new favorite book. It was just something incredible to read it. Chapter after chapter brought life changing convictions."

2) Holiness (Ryle)

Even though I am not finished with this book yet, I know that I have to put it here for similar reasons as the number 1 book. J.C. Ryle has a way of communicating the reality of Christianity to the reader clearly and in a way that makes them really consider their own ways. I'm not sure I know of a better book to hand to a fellow Christian to strengthen and encourage them in their walk. It is thorough and rich with insight. I can't imagine how one could read this work and not come away stricken with the importance of holy living and convicted that their life must be improved.

3) Martin Luther (Metaxas)

I listened to both of Eric Metaxas' popular biographies of amazing german theologians but this one stood out to me more. The history of the remarkable impact Luther had on the world was valuable enough to learn, but I found the story of his life and humanity to be even more impactful. There is much to be learned from this man's life, and to hear his story told so beautifully will not leave one unchanged.

4) Life Together (Bonhoeffer)

This little book packs a punch. I borrowed it first from my Dad but soon realized I really needed a copy to annotate and reference. It's theological exploration of christian community helped me a lot as it was something I was thinking a good deal on at that time. The book describes a day in the life of a Christian who is living in community with other christians. It touches on so many important ideas in really practical ways such as scripture reading, praying, worship, work, eating, and solitude. I got so much out of this short book and can't recommend it enough to the Christian who feel's like they need more discipline and structure in their spiritual walk.

5) Atomic Habits (Clear)

You have surely heard of this one and have probably read it, but I must add my name to the list of people who testify its help in their life. I read several books around habit this year and there certainly is a reason that so many exist. If you haven't yet encountered the ideas in this book and would like to see meaningful change in your life, do yourself a favor and add your name to the list of 10 million others that have purchased it.

6) Endurance (Lansing)

This is just an amazing book. Especially the narration on audible. If you have an itch for another captivating and incredibly well-told true story, this is a gift waiting to be unwrapped. The tale is astounding alone, but the work done by Lansing to communicate it makes it an absolute must read. After listening to this book I wrote:

I was struck with the beauty of the prose itself, amplified by the incredible talent of the narrator. After listening to it for 9 hours, I have almost begun to narrate my own life in that narrator's voice, and to structure my written sentences in such ways as does Alfred Lansing. Words like, “scarcely” and, “whilst” are somehow making sense in my vocabulary. Even now, as I write this, Simon Prebble’s voice narrates each sentence that I type.

I'm sure I'll come back to this one again (thanks Dad for another great recommendation).

7) A Praying Life (Miller)

This book is super relatable and full of deep wisdom. I went to it because I needed some help in my weak prayer life. It is deeply attached to reality and helps the reader to see they are not abnormal and their problem can be fixed with some strategy, intention, and dedication. It communicates the wonder's of having a life full of prayer and how it is in reach for anyone. It helped me to realize that a robust prayer life isn't something that just happens after a little while of trying really hard, it is a lifelong endeavor that only grows more sweet with time, like marriage. Miller gives helpful practical tips such as using prayer cards and explains why his methods have worked so well.

8) Redeeming Your Time (Raynor)

This book will be especially helpful to the busier among us but its thesis is really important for anyone. Stewarding your time is extremely important, and you can probably do it better. What set this book apart from the other, "productivity" geared books that I read this year was its theological grounding. It was refreshing to read a book geared towards practical improvements in life while also holding to a Christian worldview so faithfully.

9) The Pilgrim's Progress (Bunyan)

This is obviously one of the most legendary books ever written, but I got back to it this year as part of our book club. I won't take a stab at explaining why you should read it with my own words. I'll just say that it impacted me a lot this time around—specifically by helping me to see the reality of the journey and the meaning in the journey.

10) Orthodoxy (Chesterton)

I should say that much of Chesterton goes over my head, but that didn't stop me from really enjoying this journey of thought. I found his use of paradox and metaphor deeply enjoyable and quite useful as he argued for a Christian worldview. This book was quotable from front to back, and I'll end this list with one that stood out to me:

I do it because the thing has not merely told this truth or that truth, but has revealed itself as a truth-telling thing. All other philosophies say the things that plainly seem to be true; only this philosophy has again and again said the thing that does not seem to be true, but is true. Alone of all creeds it is convincing where it is not attractive; it turns out to be right, like my father in the garden.

Honorable Mentions

  1. The Hobbit (Andy Serkis read it to me this time)

  2. Institutes of the Christian Religion Volume 1 Book 1 (John Calvin)

  3. Bonhoeffer (Eric Metaxas)

  4. Extreme Ownership (Jocko Willink, Leif Babin)

  5. Impact Players (Liz Wiseman)

  6. The Right Hills to Die On (Gavin Ortlund)

  7. You Are What You Love (James Smith)

  8. The Death of Adam (Marilynne Robinson)

  9. The 5AM Club (Robin Sharma)

  10. Praying the Bible (Don Whitney)

  11. The Screwtape Letters (C.S. Lewis)

  12. Recapturing the Wonder (Mike Cosper)